You will start the calendar year with 40 hours of PTO and will accrue additional days monthly after that. New employees receive 40 hours at the time they’re hired.
You must use your annual PTO accruals by April 16 of the next calendar year, or you will lose any PTO that you haven’t used.
With your manager’s approval, you may also “borrow” up to 40 hours of PTO.
Important Note: Because of state laws, employees who work in California, Montana, Nebraska, the District of Columbia and certain employees in Maryland are allowed to carry over PTO days — as long as the number of days in the employee’s PTO bank does not exceed one and a half times their annual PTO allowance. For example, if your annual allowance of PTO days is 20 and you work in one of these states, you can have up to 30 days in your bank at any given time. If you reach this limit, you will stop earning time until you take time away and reduce the “balance” in your PTO bank.